

Foundation Members

On 15 September 1950, 48 people attended a meeting, chaired by the President of the RSL Sub-Branch Alex Black, to discuss the possibility of forming a club. Everyone agreed, and it was decided that those present would become the Foundation Members.

In the early years, one Foundation Member, HG (Mick) Winders, became the driving force behind the rapid growth and success of Twin Towns. Mick became Twin Towns' first Board Chairman, a position he held for 43 years.

In March 1958, Mick told members: "The future of this club is entirely in your hands. If you wish it to prosper and so provide you with amenities you are unable to find elsewhere in the two towns, then you must give it your full support."

How clear it is that the guidance of the late Mick Winders in those formative years created a model for Twin Towns that to this day is at the heart of its foundations.

Life Membership of Twin Towns

From time to time, Twin Towns Board of Management acknowledges the contribution, commitment and dedication of outstanding Club members.

Life Membership is a prestigious honour, reserved for those members who consistently go 'above and beyond' for their fellow Club members and their local community.



FOUNDATION MEMBERS LIST SEPTEMBER 1950

R. H. BAKER L. BARNES C. C. BARTLETT K. BECKS A. H. BENTLEY A.A. BLACK A. H. BOSTOCK H. C. BOSTOCK R. D. BOSTOCK C. C. BROWN G. CONAGHAN H. J. DEISSLER E. DE STERKE W. C. DOBSON H. W. GARRATT M. GEDDES A. H. GILL D. GODBEE J. L. GORDON T. J. GORDON J. E. GRAY L. HARMAN S. L. HARRIS D. HISLOP

R. C. KIMPTON E. J. LOFGREN C. L. McCALLUM D.D. McLEOD A.W. METEYARD R. H. NICHOLSON P. O'ROURKE W. T. ROBERTS G. A. ROBINSON H. ROSSITER H. SELLWOOD J. M. SHACKLEY S. SHARMAN J. SMART THOMAS J. T. TOOHEY L. TOWNEND T. H. TIENFIELD E. I. TULLY J. W. E. TULLY R. TULLY R. A. VARDY J. WAGNER H. G. WINDERS



LIFE MEMBERS

YEAR NAME

TEAK	INAME
1958	Mr H G (Mick) Winders MBE OAM †
1982	Mr J T (Mick) Lacey †
1982	Mr A P (Peter) Maunsell †
1984	Mr M R (Max) Barnes †
1984	Mr L A (Loal) Coughran †
1984	Mr L G (Laurie) Harman †
1987	Mr A C (Arthur) Jordan OAM †
1987	Mr R (Bob) Brodie †
1987	Mr A G (Bert) Raward †
1987	Mr N E (Nevile) Grundy †
1993	Mr F W (Frank) Ganter †
1993	Mr M K (Mort) Wein †
1999	Mr R (Roy) Felmingham †
2000	Mr A D (Tony) Mitchell
2001	Mr M M (Mike) Fraser
2004	Mr R D (Darryl) Pollett
2007	Ms B (Bobbie) Neal †
2007	Mr W A (Bill) Bryant †
2008	Mr A W (Arthur) Meteyard †
2008	Mr R H (Ron) Baker OAM†
2008	Mr J (John) Orbansen OAM †
2010	Mr B (Brent) Anderson
2010	Mr L D (Leigh) Bradley
2010	Mr D P (Dallas) Ryan †
2011	Mr F C (Fred) Jaques †
2011	Mrs H (Hilary) Schmidt †
2011	Mrs L E (Lucy) Turner †
2011	Mrs R M (Ruth) Warner †
2012	Mr V G (Vic) Faley
2012	Mr R W (Ron) Lewis

V (KON) LEV 2012 Mr R (Bob) Lominga 2013 2013 Mrs S B (Stephanie) Edwards Mr J N (Nev) Lesina 2014 Mrs F I (Freda) Shaw 2014 Mr P M (Mark) Day 2016 Mr M C (Max) Jessop 2016 2017 Mr J L (John) Connolly 2017 Dr J F (John) Griffin 2017 Mrs P (Pat) Lesina Mrs D J (Dorothy) Mortimer 2019 Mr J J (Joe) Russell 2019 Ms P G (Pauline) Ryan 2020